grace for the good girl

by Kerry

20120712-133451.jpg

Mary’s Song

My soul glorifies the Lord
and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior,
for he has been mindful
of the humble state of his servant.
From now on all generations will call me blessed,
for the Mighty One has done great things for me–
holy is his name.
His mercy extends to those who fear him,
from generation to generation.
He has performed mighty deeds with his arm;
he has scattered those who are proud in their inmost thoughts.
He has brought down rulers from their thrones
but has lifted up the humble.
He has filled the hungry with good things
but has sent the rich away empty.
He has helped his servant Israel,
remembering to be merciful
to Abraham and his descendants forever,
even as he said to our fathers.
Luke 1:46-55

Emily writes:
Mary is the opposite of a good girl. God split her life wide open. If she had been living as her own point of reference, the angel’s appearance would have sent her into a tailspin. But it didn’t. It set her legs to walking and her soul on fire. The Magnificat was her simple, heart-felt response. She responded to the truth that was already in her because God came down.

Chapter 13 highlights the truth that we are a whole people. We cannot diagram our lives into segments, not really. Worship covers the circle, full. Do you struggle with the concept of worship in everything? In what ways are you beginning to see your living as worship?

In Christ, our safety has already been decided. By faith, we believe it to be true. In that case, our greatest enemy is not losing our salvation, trying to become worthy of love, or disappointing God. Our greatest enemy is forgetfulness – forgetting what we already have in Christ. Forgetting that we have been placed into safety because of him. In Chapter 14 we talk about setting our minds on truth. What does this practically look like for you?

My thoughts:
I understand and truly appreciate that our living is also our worship. I know that and feel that today, more than my yesterdays. My struggle is living that worship out daily. To encapsulate my everyday real in the Living Word… “whatever you do in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus and in His Person, giving praise to God the Father through Him” (Col. 3:17). And isn’t it interesting how often (in the Bible) we’re instructed to ‘give praise’ or ‘give thanks’ at the end of passages! Sometimes at the end of fundamental reminders and sometimes after what seem like impossible instructions for living in this world. So difficult for us to maintain day in and day out. But praise and be thankful in it all because we know our identity remains in Him – …but Christ lives in me (Gal 2:20).

I love Emily’s reminder that we have to practice setting our minds on truth. Strengthening our minds daily in the Word. I believe it was in Calm My Anxious Heart, by Linda Dillow, where I read the dreaded “you are what you think” line. I’ve heard this before, but to re-read/hear this always makes me wince a bit. Isn’t that what setting our minds on truth is all about? So that we don’t have to even question if we’re surrounding ourselves with lies or not? I love Emily’s image of this being our hiding place – and I, for sure, want that to be a place of Truth.