Chicken Chilupas

by Kerry

20120712-094308.jpg

These are easy to make and everyone loves, loves, loves them.

CHICKEN CHILUPAS

2 lbs chicken, cooked and cut
1 can cr. of celery soup
1 can cr. of chicken soup
1 can chopped green chilies (op.)
1 pint sour cream
1 onion chopped (op.)
3 – 4 cups cheddar cheese (or your favorite cheese blend)
salt and pepper to taste
Flour Tortillas (15 – 25 depending on size)

Mix all together and dollop on the center of tortilla. Tuck and roll! Place in a 9×13 dish.
Bake at 350 for 20 – 30 mins at most (these heat through quickly).

Cater to your family’s liking. You can throw in black olives, mushrooms …etc. I sometimes use the chilies, sometimes not. You can use all cream of chicken soup (or mushroom, celery – doesn’t matter). I just made these for a potluck and cut back on some of the onion since some don’t like, and added some tiny chopped celery and used a Mexican cheese blend. And I used smaller tortillas since it was a potluck.

For chicken you can just use rotisserie chicken from the store and shred (easy, already cooked!). I like to buy bone-in chicken, boil it and cut up. There was a special at our store last week of packages of bone-in chicken parts, which literally added up to a whole bird (4 lbs) and I was able to easily double the recipe. So easy breezy to double this and you might as well because they go fast!

Enjoy! And a shout-out to Caralee!! She gave me this recipe after she so generously kept my kids while we traveled to Texas to house-hunt, years ago. She wrote it out for me and everything because my kids loved the Chilupas so much. :) Think of you every time, Caralee!