grace for the good girl

by Kerry

20120621-102438.jpg

Link up with us to continue the discussion on GFTGG, chapters 7 – 9. Easy to jump in at any point. Feel free to share your thoughts even if you aren’t diving into the book yet.

Here are Emily’s questions to ponder:

1. Do you teach people you have no needs and are you angry with them when they believe you?

2. I shared the story of the little girl who had to choose between the pencils or the activity book. Which would you choose? Why are you so afraid to discover what you really want?

3. In Chapter 9, we read about the story of a father and his two sons. The rebellious one gets a party when he comes home while the religious one refuses to go in. There’s a party going on – where are you standing? Inside with the celebration? Right outside with your ear pressed against the door? A mile out in the fields alone?

My thoughts:

1. Everyone does this, right? Please say yes. Okay, maybe not everyone but I am for sure guilty of this. I think because there was a time in my life where I was soooo needy due to health circumstances beyond my control that I’ve learned to resent “being needy.” I feel guilty having needs these days. I had my fair share of needy days. That should have been enough for a lifetime. But not so. We relate through our neediness. Ironically, I find I despise when people act as if they have NO needs at all, or when they don’t automatically know mine. Tricky. Apparently I am just a contradiction in terms. But you see what I’m getting at here. I accomplish nothing by masking or belittling need at any stage in life.

2. This story was so fun to read and think about. (Maybe I’ll insert an excerpt for those who haven’t read it yet.) I would choose the activity book for sure. My fear of disappointing my parents with a non-practical item would have trumped the fun pencils in a heartbeat. I wouldn’t want to look at the situation – or have someone else look at it – as a waste of my parents’ money.

3. I’m probably standing inside the celebration, present in body {not in good spirit!} with resentment seeping out of every pore.

What are your thoughts on one or all of these questions?